Accelerating Wool Cap

Accelerating wool cap

On this cap, the main 4 accelerators of CERN with their interconnections are schematically represented.

Before reaching the Large Hadron Collider (LHC), particles are accelerated successively in LINAC, PS booster, Proton Synchrotron (PS) and Super Proton Synchrotron (SPS).

Each new accelerator give more speed but more important more energy to particles. In the LHC particles collide and, thanks to the famous E = mc2 formula, their energy spontaneously transform into mass in the form of new particles that are studied in four giant detectors.

CERN Accelerators Chain

The accelerators are controlled by operators 24 hours a day from the CERN Control Centre.

More about particle accelerators.
More about CERN accelerator complex.